Inside a cage

11 08 2009

Too many days of rain, too many days at home, too many days in front of a computer…

Too much time lost in my thoughts, confronting my dreams to the reality.

Far too long in the same (this) place…

Been realizing this for a while now but I really don’t belong to places like this, where everyone knows each other and routine is a constant. Same faces, same places, same conversations. Nothing new, apart from the gossips about all and everyone…

4 years stuck in here and I’ve stopped growing, I’ve not experienced nor learnt nothing new for far too long. I was really proud of myself 4 years ago, of the maturity and life experience that I had already achieved at such young age but now, staying here for so long, I’ve stagnated. And the most frustating is that everyone else seems to have used the past 4 years to do what I have done for so long, which intensifies my feelings of unachievement…

I know work-wise I’ve grown more than all my life, I’ve changed bits of my personality that got me in many arguments before (not sure that I’m happy with the changes, but at least I don’t “offend” so many people with my personality). I’ve become more tolerant. But when reviewing me as a person, I am at the same stage as 4 years ago. Perhaps even behind, as my self-confidence is pretty low at the moment (probably due to this thesis that insists not to be finished, but I don’t know if that is really the cause or just an easy excuse)…I’m eager to try a new city, a new country, start my life from scratch once again, meet new and hopefully more exciting people that can challenge me, my posture in life and my knowledge so that I can learn and go back to growing once again. I need different types of people around me, with strong personalities that are not affraid to express their ideas, defend their positions and share knowledge. I  need adventurous people that can push me into new experiences. Yes, I could do all that alone but I personally enjoy sharing life with others… And I thought I could find all these in academia… Yeah, right… Perhaps in other place, definitely not in this one.

I know I’ll be leaving soon, not sure where to yet, but somewhere else for sure. However, I really fear that the place has nothing to do with it, I fear that it is age that limited people and I won’t find the type of people I’m looking for anywhere else, only in another time-dimension…

Acções

Information

3 responses

13 08 2009
mami & papi

Este tempo é o tempo da tua introspecção,o tempo que tinhas de passare que sem pensares,cresceste muito e amadureceste muito.As tuas asas continuam a querer voar e a levar-te para outros voos.E que vôo tão grande estás a acabar de concretizar aí em Leicester!Continua com a mesma força que sabemos que tens.Temos tanto orgulho em ti! Adoramos-te.

12 08 2009
Claratje

Estava a ler e a identificar-me!
Tal como tu gosto daquilo que faço, gosto da ciência, gosto das oportunidades que a ciência me dá (viagens, conhecer novas pessoas) mas estou cansada do mundo de intrigas, boatos, das mesmas pessoas, das mesmas conversas…
(Acho que foi por isso que ainda me custou mais deixar a ideia do meu ex. ele não era da área, era uma pessoa diferente, com conversas diferentes! Foi isso que me atraiu nele, mas pronto isso é passado)
Meio a brincar meio a sério costumo dizer à minha mãe que eu sou como um passarinho, se me fecharem muito tempo num sitio eu fico triste, perco a motivação. Neste ano que passei “presa” a escrever a tese senti isso ainda mais, não tinha idas ao estrangeiro para trabalhar, apresentar trabalhos, senti que estava a perder-me. Espero agora recuperar isso com a minha mudança e sei que tu também irás recuperar a tua força quando acabares essa tese e partires para um novo destino! E até lá força e lembra-te que há mais aves como tu 😉
Beijinhos

13 08 2009
Nomad soul

Obrigado pela forca! 😉

Deixe uma Resposta

